Founded in 1960, the founder is Chief Physician Hou Junyi and the current department director is Chief Physician Wang Xin. Established for more than 60 years, through the unremitting efforts of several generations, it has developed into a comprehensive medical department with a certain scale and strength, integrating medical treatment, teaching, scientific research, and health care.

The department currently has 32 physicians and 7 technicians, including 7 professors, 7 associate professors, 4 doctoral supervisors and 12 master supervisors. All the staff of the department carry forward the spirit of “pragmatism, dedication, cooperation and innovation”, strengthen “patient-centered” service concept, work hard, keep making progress, and be brave in innovation.

The department took the lead in implementing specialized groupings in Jilin Province in June 2008, and established three medical groups: ear group, rhinology group, throat head and neck group, realized the establishment of three-level disciplines. In October 2013, the Otology Group was formally established; in March 2015, the Throat Science Group was formally established.

After years of development, the department is currently divided into five professional groups: ear surgery group, ear medicine group, rhinology group, throat group, head and neck group. Each group has achieved outstanding results and won honors from national and provincial otolaryngology head and neck surgery acaemia.